City of Seattle Annexed Cities Reference

Seattle annexed eight small municipalities between 1905 and 1910, nearly doubling the City's physical size. Online indexes to the ordinances of the cities of Ballard, Columbia, Georgetown, South Park, Southeast Seattle, and West Seattle are now available. The ordinances themselves are available for use in the Seattle Municipal Archives research room. File-level indexes are available for certain other records of the annexed cities. The interactive annexation map provides a historic and legislative look at all annexations from 1869 through 1975.

City of Ballard

City of Columbia

City of Georgetown

City of South Park

City of Southeast Seattle

City of West Seattle

Municipal Archives, City Clerk

Anne Frantilla, City Archivist
Address: 600 Fourth Avenue, Third Floor, Seattle, WA, 98104
Mailing Address: PO Box 94728, Seattle, WA, 98124-4728
Phone: (206) 684-8353

The Office of the City Clerk maintains the City's official records, provides support for the City Council, and manages the City's historical records through the Seattle Municipal Archives. The Clerk's Office provides information services to the public and to City staff.